Translational stem cell research

Our group utilizes the translational cell model of patient-specific induced pluripotent stem cells (ps-iPSCs), human cardiac fibroblasts and human cardiac tissue for modeling and analysis of mono-and polygenetic cardiac diseases.

We focus on cardiac diseases such as dilated cardiomyopathy (DCM), anthracycline-induced cardiomyopathy (ACT), or Takotsubo cardiomyopathy (TTC), which are all suggested to be genetic predisposed. Up to now, we have generated ps-iPSCs from skin biopsies or blood cells from patients with the mentioned cardiac diseases. Using a directed differentiation protocol we are able to obtain pure functional cardiomyocytes, which can be used for further analysis.

The aims of all projects are the systematic analysis of the pathogenesis of the cardiac disease mechanisms, the analysis of the immunological response of ps-iPSCs to allogeneic and autologous immune cells, and finally the identification and validation of new molecular targets with potential translational and therapeutic relevance for cardiomyopathies to develop new therapies on a patient-specific level.

from left to right: Carmen Klopper, Steffen Köhne, Luis Haupt, Sandra Georgi, Maximilian Karls, Celina Isabelle Guessoum, Thomas Borchert, Daniela Hübscher, Lisa Krebs, Katrin Streckfuß-Bömeke, Michael Stauske

Contact
Dr. Katrin Steckfuß-Bömeke
Priv.-Doz. Dr. rer. nat. Katrin Streckfuß-Bömeke
Group leader
Abteilung:
AG Stem Cell Laboratory
Phone:
0551-39-20559
Fax:
0551-39-22953
E-Mail:
katrin.streckfuss@med.uni-goettingen.de
Borchert_Thomas
Thomas Borchert (M.Sc.)
Ph.D. student
Phone:
0551-39-12667
Fax:
0551-39-22953
E-Mail:
thomas.borchert@med.uni-goettingen.de
Georgi_Sandra
Sandra Georgi
Biological laboratory technician
Phone:
0551-39-12667
Fax:
0551-39-22953
E-Mail:
Sandra.Georgi@med.uni-goettingen.de
Celina Guessoum
Celina Guessoum
Medical doctoral student
Phone:
0551-39-12667
Fax:
0551-39-22953
E-Mail:
c.guessoum@stud.uni-goettingen.de
Johanna Heine
Biologielaborantin
Phone:
0551-39-12667
Fax:
0551-39-22953
E-Mail:
Johanna.heine@med.uni-goettingen.de
Daniela Hübscher
Dr. Daniela Hübscher
Postdoctoral position
Phone:
0551-39-10965
E-Mail:
daniela.huebscher@med.uni-goettingen.de
Carmen Klopper
Carmen Klopper
BTA
Phone:
0551-39-12667
Fax:
0551-39-22953
E-Mail:
carmen.klopper@med.uni-goettingen.de
Steffen Köhne
Steffen Köhne
Medical doctoral student (scholarship) IRTG 1816
Phone:
0551-39-12667
Fax:
0551-39-22953
E-Mail:
steffen.koehne@stud.uni-goettingen.de
Andreas Maus
Andreas Maus (M.Sc.)
Ph.D. student, IRTG1816
Phone:
0551-39-66345
Fax:
0551-39-22953
E-Mail:
Andreas.maus@med.uni-goettingen.de
Sabine Rebs
Sabine Rebs (M.Sc.)
Ph.D. student
Phone:
0551-39-66345
Fax:
0551-39-22953
E-Mail:
Sabine.rebs@med.uni-goettingen.de
Additional information / Links
Downloads
Publications
90,83 KB


Former Group Members

Contact
Luis Haupt (M.Sc.)
Ph.D. student
Phone:
0551-39-12667
Fax:
0551-39-22953
E-Mail:
luis.haupt1@stud.uni-goettingen.de
Stauske_Michael
Dr. rer. nat. Michael Stauske
Postdoctoral position
Phone:
0551-39-66280 oder -12667
Fax:
0551-39-22953
E-Mail:
michael.stauske@med.uni-goettingen.de
Lisa Krebs
Apprentice biological laboratory technician
Phone:
0551-39-12667
Fax:
0551-39-22953
E-Mail:
lisa-krebs@t-online.de