Cellular Biophysics and Translational Cardiology

A major focus of the working group of Translational Cardiology are molecular mechanisms, which control muscle function and pathophysiological changes due to disease. We use a variety of techniques including biophysics, cell biology, molecular biology, high-resolution imaging (confocal and super resolution microscopy; voltage mapping), transgenic models and comprehensive phenotyping methods. In particular, calcium binding proteins and intracellular calcium signaling are a major interest. For example cardiac ryanodine receptor (RyR2) calcium release channels, which control cardiac contraction and relaxation and modulate physiological stress adaptation during the fight-or-flight response. On the other hand, RyR2 channel dysfunction contributes to heart failure, arrhythmias, and sudden cardiac death. We develop therapeutic options for RyR2 mutation carriers with the syndrome Catecholaminergic Polymorphic Ventricular Tachycardia (CPVT), characterized by stress-induced syncope and sudden death. Because RyR2 and other calcium binding proteins can directly contribute to cardiac and other disease forms, the molecular and cellular mechanisms are investigated. A large part of our research activities is "translational" by nature and contributes to increased understanding of the molecular basis of diseases like heart failure and sudden cardiac death. Additionally, novel diagnostic and therapeutic strategies are developed and tested. Our research group is located is located in the Heart Research Center Göttingen.


Contact
Lehnart
Prof. Dr. Stephan E. Lehnart
Director, Research Unit for Cellular Biophysics and Translational Cardiology
Phone:
+49 (0)551 39 63630
E-Mail:
slehnart@med.uni-goettingen.de
Christiane Schulz
Personal Assistant to Prof. Lehnart
Phone:
+49 (0)551 39 63631
Fax:
+49 (0)551 39 63724
E-Mail:
cschulz@med.uni-goettingen.de
Location:
4 B2 054.1
Telelift:
194
Dr. med. Sören Brandenburg
Clinical and Research Fellow
Phone:
+49 (0)551 39 63637
E-Mail:
soeren.brandenburg@med.uni-goettingen.de
Miroslav Dura, Ph.D.
Research Scientist
Phone:
+49 (0)551 39 63640
Fax:
+49 (0)551 39 63705
E-Mail:
miroslav.dura@med.uni-goettingen.de
Dr. rer. nat. Tobias Kohl
Associated Research Scientist
Phone:
+49 (0)551 39 63640
Fax:
+49 (0)551 39 63705
E-Mail:
tobias.kohl@med.uni-goettingen.de
Brigitte Korff
Medical Laboratory Technician
Phone:
+49 (0)551 39 63642/63643
Fax:
+49 (0)551 39 63710
E-Mail:
brigitte.korff@med.uni-goettingen.de
Daniel Kownatzki
Ph.D. student
Phone:
+49 (0)551 39 63637
Fax:
+49 (0)551 39 63704
E-Mail:
daniel.kownatzki@med.uni-goettingen.de
Jonas Peper
Ph.D. student
Phone:
+49 (0)551 39 63637
Fax:
+49 (0)551 39 63704
E-Mail:
jonas.peper@med.uni-goettingen.de
Birgit Schumann
Medical Laboratory Technician
Phone:
+49 (0)551 39 63649/63644
Fax:
+49 (0)551 39 63710
E-Mail:
birgit.schumann@med.uni-goettingen.de
Dennis Uhlenkamp
Ph.D. student
Phone:
+49 (0)551 39 63637
Fax:
+49 (0)551 39 63704
Dr. rer. nat Eva Wagner
Research Scientist
Phone:
+49 (0)551 39 63640
Fax:
+49 (0)551 39 63705
E-Mail:
eva.wagner@med.uni-goettingen.de
Dr. rer. nat. Gunnar Weninger
Research Scientist
Phone:
+49 (0)551 39 63637
Fax:
+49 (0)551 39 63704
E-Mail:
gunnar.weninger@med.uni-goettingen.de

Former Group Members

Sarah Gockel
MD/Ph.D. student
Phone:
+49 (0)551 39 12644
Fax:
+49 (0)551 39 10650
E-Mail:
sarahgockel@gmx.de
Konstantin Gusev, Ph.D.
Alumni
E-Mail:
k.o.gusev@gmail.com

Institute of Cytology of the Russian Academy of Science, St. Petersburg

Dr. med. Kristian Hellenkamp
Resident
Phone:
+49 (0)551 39 12100
Pager:
919-6801
E-Mail:
kristian.hellenkamp@med.uni-goettingen.de
Alex Johnston, Ph.D.
Ph.D. student - IRTG 1816
Phone:
+49 (0)551 39 12644
Fax:
+49 (0)551 39 10650
E-Mail:
alex.johnston@med.uni-goettingen.de
Nour Raad, MD. Ph.D.
Resident
Phone:
+49 (0)551 39 66328
Pager:
919-2767
E-Mail:
nour.raad@med.uni-goettingen.de
Dipl.-Biol. Julia Hanni Steinbrecher
General Electric (GE) Healthcare
Dr. rer. nat. Jan-Hendrik Streich
Medical Advisor, Novartis Pharma GmbH
Dr. rer. nat. Silvio Weber
Leader Research Group Cardiac Sheddomic, Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology, Technical University Dresden
Downloads
Publications
10,23 KB