Cardiac Remodeling

Our research is focused on the process of cardiac remodeling. Volume- or pressure-overload in the heart (e.g. caused by valvular heart disease or myocardial infarction) causes an initial adaptive response, leading to stabilization of the cardiovascular system. Over time, the adaptive remodeling processes progresses into a maladaptive outcome leading to a deterioration of heart function and finally to heart failure.

We are particularly interested to understand the mechanisms underlying the transition of cardiac remodeling from compensated hypertrophy with retained heart function to heart failure in order to develop new therapeutic strategies, focusing on load-depended remodeling and the analysis of epigenetic regulation of these processes.

Contact
Karl Toischer
PD Dr. med. Karl Toischer
Group leader
Abteilung:
WG Cardiac Remodeling
Phone:
0551-39-66345/ 39-66380
Pager:
919-1559
Fax:
0551-39-22953
E-Mail:
ktoischer@med.uni-goettingen.de
Sara Khadjeh
Dr. rer. nat. Sara Khadjeh
Postdoc
Phone:
0551-39-66340
Fax:
0551-39-22953
E-Mail:
sara.khadjeh@med.uni-goettingen.de
Belal Mohamed
Dr. med. Belal Mohamed
Postdoc
Phone:
0551-39-66340
Fax:
0551-39-22953
E-Mail:
mohamed.belal@med.uni-goettingen.de
Dawid Lbik
Dawid Lbik
Ph.D. student
Phone:
0551-39-66340
Fax:
0551-39-22953
E-Mail:
dawid.lbik@med.uni-goettingen.de
Moritz Schnelle
Ph.D. student
E-Mail:
moritz.schnelle@kcl.ac.uk
Sabrina Wollborn
Sabrina Wollborn
MTA, TAC-OPs
Phone:
0551-39-66340
Fax:
0551-39-22953
E-Mail:
sabrina.wollborn@med.uni-goettingen.de